Baguazhang – The Circle of Life

Baguazhang – The Circle of Life

After Tai Ji Quan, Ba Gua Zhang is the most famous style of internal martial arts in China. Ba = 8, Gua = oracle sign, trigram, Zhang = palm, open hand; Ba Gua Zhang, therefore, means “martial art of the 8 trigrams”. As in Tai Ji Quan, inner energy is also generated and cultivated here and the use of raw strength is dispensed with. Ba Gua Zhang consists of 8 “small” forms and is practiced walking in a circle, with 8 steps completing the circle. Like the other internal arts, Ba Gua Zhang is also very beneficial for health, concentration, and physical and mental stamina.
Since it is very difficult or even impossible to learn authentic Ba Gua Zhang outside of China, the Wudang Academy offers. For the first time in Europe the opportunity to get to know this art under the guidance of Master Ziji.

Content of the seminar:

  • Basic exercises and basic steps of Ba Gua Zhang
  • 8 Ba Gua Palms
  • Individual corrections and advice on daily training

Where is the seminar?

In our academy at Siebenbrunnenfeldgasse 12/1, 1050 Vienna – there are hotels nearby – please convince yourself of the accommodations.

What do I need?

Clothing that you can move in – comfortable training shoes with flat, light-colored soles.


  • 03-04 October (weekend)
  • Saturday from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. (4 hours)
  • Sunday from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. (6 hours)
  • There are short breaks in between and a long lunch break on Sunday between 11:00 am and 1:00 pm.


350 euros (including 150 euros as a reservation fee, payable in advance)

Baguazhang – Seminar Registration



Chinese Martial Arts: Baguazhang

Chinese Martial Arts: Baguazhang

During the reign of Emperor Xianfeng of the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911), a new kung fu style, Baguazhang, emerged.

“The hands shake the sky and earth. The feet seal the yin and yang” is one of the 129 remaining Chinese fist positions in the country’s traditional martial arts.

The I-Ching

Baguazhang is derived from the philosophy of I Ching. Practitioners move in eight directions represented by eight trigrams: Qian, Kan, Gen, Zhen, Xun, Li, Kun and Dui. Practitioners should keep walking in circles with swinging and hooking steps, and strike with different palm positions.

They should also keep the moves and breath stable. One of the basic moves, “the mud-wading steps,” requires people to keep their feet flat all the time and grasp the ground with their toes while moving.

Aside from the complicated and elegant moves, the philosophy of the practice has contributed to the people’s admiration of Baguazhang.


“You don’t practice for fights. You practice for good purposes like protecting the weak,” said Li Xiuren, a fourth generation inheritor of Baguazhang, when talking about what she’s learned from her father.

Throughout 160 years, the art has survived different eras and underwent many changes.

To help the weak, encourage people to stay healthy and preserve this art, Li writes books to promote Baguazhang. She went through a lot of difficulties, but never stopped her pursuit to pass on the art.

“Continuous change” is the main point for practicing Baguazhang, but also a piece of wisdom to navigate life. As a traditional form of Chinese martial arts, Baguazhang will go further by reinventing itself, bringing the Chinese culture to more people around the world.